The estimated package range for one primary hip replacement in Dr Vishnu's Kannur practice is USD 2,500 to 3,000. Mediclinic UAE lists an AED 75,000 medical-tourism THA package. That is a selected self-pay offer, not an insured resident's personal cost. The useful comparison includes insurance contributions where applicable, the operation, travel, recovery and follow-up. [1]
A hip comparison needs its own questions. Surgical approach, fixation, bearing surfaces, dislocation precautions, mobility and the journey home all matter. They are not captured by the phrase “standard hip replacement”.
On this page
1. Is hip replacement the right operation now?
Start with the diagnosis, symptoms and treatment already tried. Hip replacement is considered when pain, stiffness, reduced function or deformity has a substantial effect on life and suitable non-surgical care no longer helps enough. The decision should come from clinical assessment, not age, body mass index or an X-ray score alone. [6] [7]
Make sure the painful area is actually the hip. Back problems, tendon pain and other conditions can produce symptoms around the groin, buttock or thigh. A remote review can identify the likely path, but the final decision needs the required examination and current imaging.
If this is revision surgery rather than a first hip replacement, neither primary package in this article applies. Revision treatment needs a case-specific estimate based on the failure diagnosis, bone loss, infection pathway and required components.
2. Who is planning and performing the operation?
Compare the surgeon's qualifications, current scope of practice and experience with the operation being proposed. Ask who will examine you before surgery and who will be available if the plan changes. A direct clinical discussion is more useful than a sales call that cannot answer medical questions.
Approach-specific experience matters. If a surgeon proposes the direct anterior approach, ask why it suits this hip and how the surgeon manages its particular risks. If another approach is advised, ask the same questions. The label alone cannot establish quality.
3. Does the facility support the planned case?
Look beyond photographs of a private room. Confirm the hospital, its current accreditation, operating-theatre capability, anaesthesia support, infection processes, physiotherapy and access to medical care. Accreditation is a useful screening point. It is not a guarantee of outcome.
A medically fit patient having a straightforward primary THR needs a different level of planning from a person with severe heart disease, previous hip surgery or a failed implant. The facility should match the actual case, not just the procedure name.
4. What implant and approach are being proposed?
A total hip replacement includes a socket shell and liner, a femoral stem and a head. Ask about the implant system or category, bearing, fixation and component traceability. The appropriate combination depends on bone quality, anatomy, age, activity, deformity and the reconstruction.
Dr Vishnu's practice may use components from established global manufacturers such as DePuy Synthes, Zimmer Biomet and Smith+Nephew. This is not a brand league table. Evidence and suitability belong to the specific component system and patient.
The direct anterior approach may offer some early recovery differences in selected settings. A review comparing direct anterior with posterior primary hip replacement did not establish a clear difference in time to stop walking aids or dislocation, and reported higher risks of some intraoperative complications. [2] The anterior approach also has a substantial learning curve. [3] The choice should not be sold as “scarless”, “no muscle damage” or guaranteed faster recovery.
5. What does the complete cost look like?
Dr Vishnu's practice supplied a range of USD 2,500 to 3,000 for one primary THR on 29 August 2026. The standard package covers the planned admission, including room rent, consumables and disposables, medicines during admission, consultations, inpatient physiotherapy, the agreed implant, operating-theatre charges, surgeon or doctor fees and anaesthesia charges. The usual inpatient pathway is three days.
Mediclinic UAE's English medical-tourism page, checked on 24 October 2026, lists AED 75,000 for THA, two inpatient days and a standard prosthesis. Robotic assistance and surgical approach are not specified. ICU care, complex imaging, take-home medicines and other-specialist consultations are listed as exclusions. [1]
For an insured UAE resident, compare the approved patient contribution and non-covered care, rather than assuming the medical-tourism package is the amount personally payable.
| Provider and procedure | Technique | Amount and date | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aster MIMS Kannur, one primary THR | Primary THR, no robotic hip offer implied | USD 2,500 to 3,000; practice-confirmed 29 August 2026 | Planned admission to discharge; usual inpatient pathway three days |
| Mediclinic UAE, medical-tourism THA [1] | Approach and robotic use not specified | AED 75,000; provider page checked 24 October 2026 | Two inpatient days; standard prosthesis; listed exclusions apply |
Use dated written estimates for the same operation and package scope. Keep the original currencies and state the exchange rate and date if you convert them.
A hospital package compares hospital care. A patient decision compares the complete treatment episode.
For the India option, add travel, visa expenses where applicable, accommodation after discharge, meals, local transport, companion costs, home physiotherapy, follow-up imaging, insurance and contingency. The full cost worksheet keeps those amounts visible.
6. How will you manage recovery and the flight?
Receiving care close to home in the UAE can make family support and access to examination simpler. Travelling to Kannur may work well for a person with support in Kerala, enough time away and a safe plan to continue recovery before flying.
The usual three-day admission in Kannur is not the length of the trip. For an uncomplicated one-sided THR and a flight longer than four hours, the first travel reassessment is usually planned 14 to 21 days after surgery. Wound healing, walking, pain, blood-clot risk, medicines, other health problems, the full route and airline rules determine the advice.
Ask whether the accommodation has lift access, a suitable bathroom, a firm chair and enough room to use a walking aid. Decide who will help with meals, medicines and transport to review. A companion is not compulsory for everyone, but travelling alone must be planned honestly.
7. Who owns aftercare when you are back in the UAE?
Follow-up with Dr Vishnu is included as appropriate for your case. The handover should identify a local physiotherapist, a clinician for hands-on assessment and any planned radiographs. [4]
Leave the hospital with a discharge summary, operative record, implant labels, medicine plan, wound advice and rehabilitation instructions. A generic certificate saying “hip replacement done” is not enough for future care.
Video review can help with progress and planned questions. It cannot rule out infection, dislocation, fracture or a blood clot.
Use a seven-dimension scorecard
Score each written pathway as strong, acceptable or unclear. An unclear answer should trigger a question, not an assumption.
| Dimension | Evidence to collect | Your rating |
|---|---|---|
| Clinical fit | Diagnosis, alternatives, side and primary or revision plan | Strong / acceptable / unclear |
| Surgeon | Credentials, direct consultation and relevant experience | Strong / acceptable / unclear |
| Facility | Named hospital, accreditation, theatre, anaesthesia and physiotherapy | Strong / acceptable / unclear |
| Implant | System, bearing, fixation, traceability and reason for choice | Strong / acceptable / unclear |
| Total cost | Hospital, travel, recovery, rehabilitation and contingency | Strong / acceptable / unclear |
| Travel | Local stay, flexible route, assistance and individual flight review | Strong / acceptable / unclear |
| Aftercare | Records, UAE clinician, physiotherapy, imaging and urgent-care route | Strong / acceptable / unclear |
The India hip-replacement cost guide explains the Kannur estimate in more detail. If knee replacement is also being considered, use the separate India versus UAE knee comparison. It covers bilateral surgery, partial replacement and robotics, which do not belong in a hip decision.