Skip to main content

International patients · Patient guide

Knee Replacement in India vs UAE: Cost, Implants, Hospital Stay and Follow-Up

Compare the operation, package scope, travel and hands-on follow-up for a UAE resident considering Kannur.

9 min read

An airport glass wall reflecting both a restrained desert skyline and monsoon greenery, with a walker and small suitcase in the foreground

A fair comparison starts here

  • Use current written estimates for the same operation and laterality.
  • Compare the implant, hospital days, medicines, tests, physiotherapy and professional fees.
  • Add travel, local recovery, a companion, missed work and rehabilitation to the India total.
  • Decide who will examine you after you return to the UAE if a concern develops.

For a UAE resident, the useful comparison is what each complete pathway would cost you. A public self-pay package is not the same as an insured resident's personal bill. Compare a Kannur estimate plus travel and recovery with the UAE provider's confirmed patient payment, after any insurance approval.

The UAE figure below comes from one provider's public page. It is not an average for every hospital in the country. Your real comparison should use the written UAE quote you have received and a personal estimate from Kannur.

On this page

The published prices, shown without a misleading conversion

Dr Vishnu's practice supplied an estimated international package range of USD 2,500 to 3,000 for one primary TKR or UKA and USD 4,000 to 4,500 for a bilateral primary TKR or UKA. Robotic assistance adds USD 600 once to the applicable package, including a bilateral package.

Mediclinic UAE's medical-tourism page, checked on 24 October 2026, lists AED 75,000 for its TKA package and AED 120,000 for bilateral TKA. It does not specify robotic assistance. These are selected provider offers, not a UAE average or an insured resident tariff. [1]

Provider and procedureTechniquePublished amountDate and scope
Aster MIMS Kannur, one primary TKRWithout robotic supplementUSD 2,500 to 3,000Practice-confirmed 29 August 2026; planned admission to discharge
Aster MIMS Kannur, one primary robotic TKRCORI-assistedUSD 3,100 to 3,600Calculated from the same range + USD 600 once
Aster MIMS Kannur, bilateral primary TKRWithout / with CORIUSD 4,000 to 4,500 / USD 4,600 to 5,100USD 600 supplement once for the bilateral package
Mediclinic UAE, TKA medical-tourism package [1]Robotic assistance not specifiedAED 75,000 unilateral; AED 120,000 bilateralProvider page checked 24 October 2026; two inpatient days

The table keeps each amount in its published currency. Exchange rates and payment charges move. A conversion without its rate and date can make a precise-looking comparison less accurate.

Put the inclusions on the same page

The Kannur standard package covers the planned admission from hospital entry to discharge. It includes room rent, consumables and disposables, medicines during admission, consultations, inpatient physiotherapy, the agreed implant, operating-theatre charges, surgeon or doctor fees and anaesthesia charges.

Mediclinic's package includes professional fees, a standard prosthesis, routine inpatient tests and physiotherapy. Its stated exclusions include ICU care, complex imaging, take-home medicines and other-specialist consultations. [1]

Use a dated written estimate from each provider for the same operation and package scope. A headline price alone does not establish that the two pathways are comparable.

Compare the operation, not only the word “knee replacement”

One quote may be for total replacement and another for partial replacement. A bilateral quote is not comparable with one knee. A primary package does not apply to revision surgery.

Recent weight-bearing X-rays and examination decide whether all compartments need treatment or whether a suitable isolated compartment could be treated with UKA. Medical health and early rehabilitation determine whether simultaneous bilateral surgery is reasonable. The India knee-replacement cost guide explains those distinctions in detail.

The cited review of primary total knee replacement trials found better alignment with robotic assistance but did not establish better patient scores or fewer complications. Those trials used ROBODOC and NAVIO, not CORI, and did not study partial knee replacement. The system and operation therefore need to be named in each proposal. [2]

Ask for the implant model and traceability

“Standard implant” is not enough for a final comparison. Ask for the manufacturer, model or model category, fixation and bearing design. Find out when the final choice is made and whether the discharge pack will include component labels.

The practice may use systems from established global manufacturers including DePuy Synthes, Zimmer Biomet and Smith+Nephew. That list is not a brand ranking. Implant evidence belongs to the specific model and configuration, not to every product carrying the same company name.

Two hospital days and three hospital days do not equal the whole trip

A patient treated close to home in the UAE may leave hospital and continue recovery in a familiar home with local access to the surgical team. A patient treated in Kannur remains away from the UAE after discharge. Accommodation, meals, transport and support during that period belong in the India column.

For an uncomplicated one-sided TKR or UKA, the first reassessment for a flight longer than four hours is usually planned 14 to 21 days after surgery. After bilateral replacement, it is usually planned 21 to 28 days after surgery. Those are practice planning windows. Wound healing, mobility, clot risk, pain, other health problems, the route and airline rules decide the advice.

A direct itinerary and a difficult sequence of connections are not the same. Count the full airport day, not only the longest flight. Arrange wheelchair assistance early if needed and buy a ticket that can tolerate a change in recovery.

If you have UAE insurance

The insurer and UAE provider should confirm authorisation, the patient contribution, exclusions and aftercare cover. That personal figure belongs in the comparison, rather than treating AED 75,000 as the amount every resident must pay.

Illustrative arithmetic only: a confirmed patient contribution of AED 5,000 plus AED 1,500 of expected non-covered spending gives AED 6,500 expected expenditure. These are example numbers, not a tariff or insurance promise. Compare your real figure with the complete India budget using one stated exchange-rate date; keep any reserve separate.

Include the costs that occur outside hospital

For India, add flights, visa expenses where applicable, accommodation after discharge, meals, local transport, a companion, home physiotherapy, follow-up X-rays, insurance and a contingency. Add lost income or leave if it materially affects the decision.

An Indian passport holder, an OCI cardholder and a foreign passport holder do not follow the same entry process. Check the official Government of India visa portal for the passport being used. Do not rely on an agent's general statement or an older visa screenshot.

Use the complete surgery-abroad budget worksheet. It adds confirmed costs and expected additional costs once, then shows a separate reserve.

Follow-up can decide which location is practical

Follow-up with Dr Vishnu is included as appropriate for your case. The plan should identify local wound assessment, physiotherapy and any follow-up radiographs. A video call supports planned review, but cannot replace hands-on assessment of a hot wound, painful calf or unstable knee.

The team should provide a discharge summary, operation record, implant details, medicine plan and rehabilitation instructions for the UAE clinician and physiotherapist.

Choose the plan that remains sensible when the full cost and aftercare are clear. For some people that will be treatment close to home in the UAE. For others, family support in Kerala and a lower written package price may make Kannur reasonable. The answer should come from the whole pathway, not from national labels.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is knee replacement less expensive in India than in the UAE?

A hospital package alone cannot answer that. Compare personal written estimates in a stated working currency, include travel and recovery, and use your confirmed patient contribution if UAE insurance applies. The public provider examples are not national averages or insured resident tariffs.

What UAE price is used in this comparison?

Mediclinic UAE's public international-patient page, checked on 24 October 2026, lists an AED 75,000 package price for unilateral TKA and AED 120,000 for bilateral TKA. These are one provider's advertised packages, not UAE national averages or personal quotes.

What are the current Kannur practice ranges?

The estimated range is USD 2,500 to 3,000 for one primary TKR or UKA and USD 4,000 to 4,500 for a bilateral primary package. Robotic assistance adds USD 600 once to either applicable package.

Does a shorter hospital stay mean I can return to the UAE sooner?

No. Hospital discharge and flight readiness are different decisions. For a flight longer than four hours, the first reassessment is usually planned 14 to 21 days after uncomplicated unilateral replacement and 21 to 28 days after bilateral replacement.

Can follow-up continue after I return to the UAE?

Follow-up with Dr Vishnu is included as appropriate for your case. Video review can support recovery, while a local doctor and physiotherapist provide hands-on care. The handover should identify rehabilitation and a local route for urgent concerns.

To request a free remote case review, use the international patient form, email [email protected] or WhatsApp +91 80008 85008.

Sources used for this guide

  1. Mediclinic Middle East. Orthopaedic Packages for International Patients at Mediclinic. English medical-tourism TKA package prices and scope checked 24 October 2026. mediclinic.ae Back to: text 1, text 2, text 3
  2. Alrajeb R, et al. Robotic-assisted versus conventional total knee arthroplasty: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. European Journal of Orthopaedic Surgery & Traumatology, 2024;34(3):1333-1343. Publisher full text Back to: text 1
  3. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Medical Tourism. CDC Yellow Book 2026. Guidance on package clarity, records, insurance, follow-up and travel-related risk. cdc.gov
  4. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism. CDC Yellow Book 2026. Long-distance travel risk factors and prevention advice. cdc.gov
  5. Government of India. Official e-Visa portal. Current categories, eligibility and application process. indianvisaonline.gov.in
  6. NHS. Pulmonary embolism. English guidance on symptoms needing immediate emergency help. NHS Back to: text 1
  7. NHS. Complications of a knee replacement. English urgent-action guidance on postoperative wound and leg symptoms. NHS Back to: text 1

Kannur practice ranges were confirmed by Dr Vishnu on 29 August 2026. The Mediclinic English provider page was checked on 24 October 2026. These are distinct verification dates; current personal written estimates remain necessary.

Medically reviewed by Dr. Vishnu Baburaj, MS Ortho (PGI Chandigarh), MRCS (UK) · Last reviewed

This article is for educational purposes and does not replace a medical consultation. For personalised advice, book an appointment at Aster MIMS Kannur.

Still Have Questions?

Discuss Your Case with Dr. Vishnu

Every patient is different. If you'd like personalised advice about your condition, book a consultation or send a message.

WhatsApp Us Request an appointment